stamp pad holder

so i love to organize, and i’m always organizing and reorganizing my craft space.  today, i sat down at my desk and thought about how unorganized my stamp pads were.  some of them were above my desk, others were in a drawer.  most of them were stacked one on top of another and they were just were not easily accessible.

this problem got me to thinking.  so i broke out some chipboard and started playing around.  before i knew it, i had thought up an idea to organize my stamp pads.  the idea spawned from a stampin’ up! stamp pad holder i had seen in someone’s craft room tour video on youtube, and soon enough i was off and running creating my own project.

supplies:
supplies i used for this project include:

2 12 x 12″ pieces of medium weight chipboard (1/16th inch thick)
4 12 x 12″ pieces of patterned paper
my paper trimmer
scotch quick dry glue
glossy accents glue
a hot glue gun
typical tools (ruler, pencil, craft knife, scissors, bone folder, etc.)

the sketch:
so the sketch actually came after i finished the project.  i thought it would be easier to show others what the project should look like when it’s finished, even if it isn’t identical to the one that i created.

so the unit itself is 6 inches wide, by 6 inches tall, by 3 inches deep.  the spaces for each individual stamp pad is a little under 1 inch (leaving space for the chipboard).  the unit holds all of my stamp pads except for my colobox fluid chalk stamp pads (they are just too thick!).  stamp pads it does hold include: versamark, martha stewart, stazon, stampendous, and distress inks.  other stamp pads that i do not own but are of similar size, will also fit in the shelves.

in addition, this unit can also be hung on the wall (in many different ways).  i prefer to hang things up using command hooks and strips, because they don’t do any damage and really allow for me to change my walls around constantly!  to hang up my stamp pad holder, i placed 3m command velcro strips on the back of the box and stuck it onto the wall!  it is small enough and light enough that using this method works just fine.  if it were larger and held more ink pads, i’d be concerned about the stability of using this hanging method.

check out the video tutorial for more information on how i created this project!!

i hope you’ve enjoyed this project, stop by again soon for more inspiring ideas!

This entry was posted in home decor, how-to. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to stamp pad holder

  1. Susan says:

    Brilliant! And clear instructions. I have been searching for a long time for the best stamp pad storage and here I have found it! Wished you would sell these, I will just have to get busy and make one. Thank you for posting this!

Leave a Reply

